Ladies Ballpark Apparel on a Budget

I show you how to be a ballpark hottie for $15 or less! ;)

Happy 2013 baseball fans!! This week’s t-shirt features the Cincinnati Reds and if it doesn’t inspire you to keep your hit the gym resolutions, nothing will!

The design for this t-shirt is inspired by #50 Sean from the book, 99 Ways to Cut, Sew, Trim, and Tie Your T-Shirt into Something Special.

Follow the steps below for a unique spin on the everyday MLB shirt:

1. I ordered this shirt off of MLB.com in the clearance section for $12.98 in a medium.

Cincinnati Reds

2. Using chalk I drew out the cut lines for the top, trying to make them as even as possible.

Cincinnati Reds

3. I cut along the lines, which were the same for the front and back. The book suggests starting at the armpit and moving toward the shoulder seam like the first picture below.

Cincinnati Reds

Cincinnati Reds

4. I tied the sleeve flaps into knots on each side and got my final result.

Cincinnati Reds final shirtCincinnati Reds final shirt

5. An optional step is to sew the bottom of the shirt to the neck to create a a turtleneck like top. I didn’t think that was very summery and thought it might cover up the Cincy logo, so skipped that step.

Cincinnati Reds

I thought the result was cute, but a little risque for my taste. If I wore this to a park, I would add a white cami underneath, but I could see this shirt being a hit on the right person! I really like the sleeves, so next time I make this shirt, I won’t cut off the bottom all the way. Actually the bottom might be a fun part to experiment with- maybe cutting the bottom at an angle or fringing it instead. This design was super easy and the more I think about it- very versatile! Enjoy your options!!

Check out my previous posts for more DIY shirts:

Oakland Athletics, Boston Red Sox, Cleveland Indians, LA Angels

If you have a homemade t-shirt design to share, feel free to email it to me at alicia@ballparksonabudget.com. Also, if you haven’t already, please like my Facebook page- Ballparks on a Budget or follow me on Twitter- @alicia_barnhart.

***A big thank you to Angela from The Moments Forever for taking my picture and Jennifer from On Call Artistry for making me pretty! Really appreciate your help!!

10 thoughts on “Ladies Ballpark Apparel on a Budget

  1. I’m pretty sure I see those kinds of shirts on girls at Cubs games ALL the time. I’ll share the good DIY tips with them, which will save them $50 bucks they can use to buy more beer at the park. Thanks!

  2. That’s the kind of apparel that would make me miss a foul ball and konk me in the head…and yet I still probably wouldn’t mind.

    (Provided of course I had plenty of ice for the lump ;) LOL )

    Looks quite saucy!

Leave a Reply

