How to Stay in MLB Cities for Free!

Pretty catchy title right? Forgoing hotel costs is actually quite simple if you stay with friends or family, but what about the times when you don’t know anyone in the cities you visit? You stay with strangers! Yeah, when I think of staying with strangers, I immediately conjure up some wild stories thanks to the news and movies like Taken. While there is some validity to those fears, sites like CouchSurfing.org have made it possible to meet people who are perfectly normal and happy to host someone for a few nights.

Some days of blogging are slightly more fun than others!

Some days of blogging are slightly more fun than others!

I have never personally tried CouchSurfing (well besides in the picture above!), but I am very interested in giving it a go in the near future thanks to one of my favorite bloggers, Tim Ferriss’ post earlier this month. If you’ve never heard of Tim Ferriss, he’s an eccentric self-made millionaire with fascinating stories and life advice which he shares freely on his blog. He has a few books out there too- the 4-Hour series (Work, Body, Chef). Earlier this month he interviewed Alexandra Liss, who used Couchsurfing to travel for six months while visiting 21 countries and filming a documentary.

As a female who travels alone, I was very interested to read her account and she gave some great advice on how to use the site. Her “8 Steps to Become a CouchSurfing Guru” is easy to follow and provides a wealth of information on building a profile and finding a good match in the city you’re visiting. I was pleasantly surprised by the CouchSurfing network and the amount of detail that goes into finding a place to stay.

This could be a great tool when traveling to MLB cities across the country to avoid hotel costs. Maybe baseball fans could start a sharing community to help each other visit all the ballparks. Just a thought!

Have you used CouchSurfing and have additional comments/concerns? Please feel free to share…

9 thoughts on “How to Stay in MLB Cities for Free!

    • I thought it sounded scary until one of girl friends in Columbus did it last September. Then I read Tim’s interview and I’m even more intrigued. I’d like to try it once! Thanks for reading Malcolm!

  1. Shout when you’re coming to STL and I can help you find a couch or at least make sure one you find is safe! My couch is occupied almost always by me after pissing off the wife, but couchsurfing sounds intriguing to the much younger, single, childless me. Happy travels!

  2. This is a great post – we’re so glad Alexandra’s article made an impact on you! We definitely suggest you try Couchsurfing. A great way to dip your toe in before staying with someone is to go to an event in your area. There are pages for each city/area where you can browse activities or start a conversation.

    And, of course, have a browse through our safety page which gives you the whole down-low on making the most informed decision you can about hosts and guests: http://www.couchsurfing.org/safety

  3. It doesn’t sound nearly as crazy to me as it might have three years ago. I’ve met so many amazing people through blogging — people I’d welcome into my home, and who would (I think) welcome me into theirs. Your intuition will keep you safe. And your idea of starting a community of traveling fans is probably a good one.

  4. This sounds like a great idea. I feel like a lot of people have the same thoughts as you (scared of what happens with strangers), I know I do. But, as a community if we get over this, we can all do what we all love…watch baseball in many cities.

  5. Alicia, Christy Dumford (now Williams) here. It has been so long since we have been on the sidelines at Ohio Stadium filming together! Anyway, my husband and I are HUGE into CouchSurfing, and I highly recommend it. I will try to find you on the site and give you a review, as reviews are what gets people to accept you as a guest.

    If you are coming to Boston, you can for sure CouchSurf with us. Hopefully we will see you soon!

Leave a Reply

